* 6.12 Advent Silence – I

monica13

How silently, how silently

the wondrous gift is given;

so God imparts to human hearts

the blessings of his heaven.

No ear may hear his coming,

but in this world of sin

where meek souls will receive him still,

the dear Christ enters in.

I remember the first time these lines from O Little Town of Bethlehem struck me. I was seven years old. What struck me was their obvious truth. And the beauty of that truth. From then on, much as I loved all the pzazz of Christmas, what I loved most of all was the silence that lies beneath and around it.

MLT.

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Reflections

Leave a Reply

