Tuesday 1st March 2016 (St. David) Pressing on toward the goal

1stMar.walkerpilgrim  (640x560)

 

 

(Philippians 3:8-14; Ps 1, R/39:5; Matt 5:13-16)

 

We are pilgrims here on earth because we are passing through in order reach our final destination.  Meeting God is our ultimate goal. So what I have done, what am I doing and what will I continue to do in order to meet God face to face at the end of my journey here on earth? I need to look deeply into my heart and ask myself: Will I be among those to whom Christ will say, “I was hungry and you gave me food, thirsty and you gave me drink, a stranger and you made me welcome, naked and you clothed me, sick and in prison you came to visit me”?

Today is not too late to make a new start.  You and I can begin today to seek out those around us who may be in need, to make a difference in their lives, no matter how small it may seem to be. It may not be an easy task in a society where people are suspicious of one another, where a good act could be misunderstood or misinterpreted. Should I then stop doing good because I maybe misjudged?  Jesus says ‘NO’ because nothing can happen that will outweigh the supreme advantage of knowing him.  Jesus himself was misjudged and finally was nailed to the cross.  …But the cross was not the end of Jesus’ story.  He was raised up by God on the third day and was crowned with eternal glory.

Pope Francis, in The Name of God is Mercy, quotes the words of St. John of the Cross:‘”  In the evening of life, we will be judged on love alone.”’  And we can be sure that all those who persevere to the end in charity will live with him in His glory forever.

 

FMSL

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Reflections

Leave a Reply

