Interruption: Theology of an Easter Tree

We’ll let the readers think up their own Tree of Life theories. WT

N A I Billingsley

You may wonder at the words above belonging together. In my experience ‘Easter Tree’ alone tends to be met with blank looks, never mind a theology thereof.

I grew up with the tradition of an Easter tree because my parents discovered it in Switzerland when visiting my uncle who was working there at the time, before I was born.

It basically a vase of spring twigs, decorated with wooden eggs, chicks and other Easter decorations. I put mine together on Tuesday upon returning to Chichester after the Easter weekend:

I’m not aware of the origins of this tradition, or whether there is any particular theology behind it, though I daresay the world wide web offers a few possible answers. As with its cousin the Christmas tree, this may be more a secular than a religious tradition, but similarly, there is plenty of potential to read theological meaning into it — most…

View original post 113 more words

1 Comment

by | March 31, 2016 · 21:05

One response to “Interruption: Theology of an Easter Tree

  1. All the birds flock to the mustard tree – the Kingdom has room for all. Well, that’s one line of thought.

    Like

Leave a Reply

