10 May Tuesday: A Greeting

ashfdlowsun1 (800x431)

GOOD morning, Life – and all

Things glad and beautiful.

My pockets nothing hold,

But he that owns the gold,

The Sun, is my great friend –

His spending has no end.

A Greeting, W. H. Davies

 

The Welsh poet W.H. Davies lost a leg jumping a train in America, but unembittered, went on to write of gladness and beauty. Back in February I was changing trains and noticed the low sunlight reflected off the rails. I had only a minute or so to stand and stare; while my picture does not do the sight justice, for there was gold in the morning sun that day.

 

The shining rails reminded me of Blake’s lines:

 

 I give you the end of a golden string;

Only wind it into a ball,

It will lead you in at Heaven’s gate,

Built in Jerusalem’s wall.

To the Christians, William Blake.

 

I was on my way to work, not Heaven’s gate – or perhaps the golden thread that I am meant to follow takes me there, through my daily work?

 

goldenstringimage

Let us be thankful for the gifts we have received, and let us look up and pray, every day, for discernment.

MMB.

In 2012 the Blake Society declared Chris Williams the winner of their competition to set these words to music. This links to the first performance in St James’ Piccadilly, London.

http://chriswilliamscomposer.com/works/vocal/a-golden-string/

Image: Yale University via:

http://www.blakearchive.org/exist/blake/archive/object.xq?objectid=jerusalem.e.illbk.77&java=no

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Reflections, poetry

Leave a Reply

