July 29: Walk on by … or Not!

 

Holding my trusty bike, I waited on the platform while six or seven passengers left my homeward-bound train. The first among them dropped a plastic wallet; I expected one of those following to retrieve and return it to her.

No-one did, so that left me.

I duly picked it up; it contained her tickets and Oyster card.

mercylogoThere was a railwayman close by who had not seen the incident. I gave him the wallet; he thanked me and went after the woman.

‘She’s the lady in the blue headdress’, I told him as I boarded my train.

Other passengers must have seen her drop the wallet; some walked around it. Were they just self-absorbed, or were they unwilling or afraid to approach a Muslim woman?

If we want peace, we must live peaceful lives. That does not mean ‘minding our own business’; rather it means treating everyone as a neighbour.

A few days later, on another part of the network:

welshspeakers

(Tweeted by NAIB2, 21.6.2016)

Which of these three, in thy opinion, was neighbour to him that fell among the robbers?

But he said: He that shewed mercy to him. And Jesus said to him: Go, and do thou in like manner.

                               Luke 10:36-37.

MMB.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Reflections

Leave a Reply

