A week with Rabindranath Tagore: III

shadows-640x480

What you are you do not see, what you see is your shadow.

Naturally I am reminded of Saint Paul to the Corinthians :

For now we see through a glass, darkly;

but then face to face:

now I know in part;

but then shall I know even as also I am known.

1 Corinthians 13:12

I used to play a silly game with my children: ‘I’ve got your shadow,’ I would say, standing between the child and the sun. Joking apart, it is wrong to stand between somebody and the sun, between someone and God – It is impossible but that offences will come: but woe unto him, through whom they come! (Luke 17:1)

Perhaps we can spend too long looking in the wrong direction, at the shadows or our reflection – like the story of Narcissus.

Even Moses only saw God in a cloud, and only his back.  Are we ready to see God face to face today? Do we dare recognise him?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Reflections

Leave a Reply

