9 February: Unstoppable faith

thursday-9-pansy-pavement
(Image from http://markseifried.tumblr.com/post/119022876840/persistence)

Thursday 9th, February, 2017

Gospel: Mark 7:24-30

The woman in the Gospel story today was adamant.  Jesus had described any move to help her as giving the children’s food to house-dogs.  The woman stood her ground and was not discouraged by the strong language used by Jesus.  She felt she deserved a chance and Jesus gave her that chance.

Reflecting on Jesus’ first reaction, it was a total write-off.  She could have easily felt offended and walked away.  If it were me, I could have felt so angry and humiliated that I would not like to have anything to do with him again. It is a big challenge to be nice to somebody who speaks rudely to me.  How open am I to that person or situation I am finding difficult to deal with?  Will I resolve today to give that person another try?

In the midst of my everyday wrong choices, God does not and will not give up on me.  In the same way I am called to imitate God, in being more accommodating and empathetic.   Am I convinced that God can still intervene in every situation, even when it seems hopeless?  Like the woman in the Gospel, I should not give up. God is fully aware of it and taking care of it in his own way.

FMSL

 

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Reflections

One response to “9 February: Unstoppable faith

  1. Good post, sisters! I don’t suppose people were quite as soft on dogs then and there as we are in the UK today. What I like in this story is that Jesus was gently teasing the woman and she was more than ready to take the challenge. We can get too solemn about some of the gospel, but try a different tone of voice – a stand-up comic tone – when telling the mote and the beam, for example. It does not take away any of the force of the parable.

    Like

Leave a Reply

